Posts tagged ‘Databases’
Friday, February 19th, 2010

While I was growing up in Colombia libraries were very scarce, the only library one ever heard mentioned was the Biblioteca Luis Ángel Arango (BLAA), which I finally got to visit.
While the Biblioteca Luis Ángel Arango is owned by the Banco de la República de Colombia, it is very much a public library, and open [...]

Saturday, February 13th, 2010

Travesía is a website put together by Spain’s Ministry of Culture’s General Subcommittee on the Coordination of Libraries. Basically the sites aims at promoting collaboration among Spanish librarians, and offers them a space to work together.
Information on the site is divided into three main categories; 1) Documentation that will aid collaboration among Spanish Librarians; 2) [...]

Friday, February 12th, 2010

The British Library is always up to something interesting; I just discovered their Database of Bookbindings. This is an entire online collection dedicated to the bindings of books held by the British Library, some of which date back to 1500! The collection also includes some items held by the National Library of Netherlands.
The collection includes [...]

Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010

My friend Alberto Martinez, who works at El Colegio de México, is always collaborating on great projects, the most recent one has resulted in free access to all the journals that the university edits!
The journals, which cover a wide range of topics, many of them relating to Mexican history can be accessed here. You can [...]

Thursday, October 8th, 2009

This beautiful database set up by the Van Gogh Museum, gathers all of Vicent van Gogh’s letters, including facsimiles of the originals, transcriptions, translations, and the art work connected to each. The site allows you to browse by period, correspondent, and by place. You can also conduct basic and advance searches. The collection includes 902 [...]

Tuesday, September 29th, 2009

Yesterday the Guardian posted an article about a new database the BBC put together called Wildlife Finder. The site gathers hundreds of video footage, from over 30 BBC programs,of wild animals the world over. Videos are organized by type of animal, habitat, adaptation features, or ecozone.
Each entry also includes the animal’s scientific classification, adaptation information [...]

Sunday, September 27th, 2009

The Atlas database at the Louvre provides access to all the items exhibited at the museum, some 30,000 items. This database was first up and running in French, and currently functions in English thanks to financial help the American Friends of the Louvre. Each item can be magnified, and comes with a brief description.
You can [...]

Saturday, September 19th, 2009

National Geographic has been around for well over a century and have managed to gather a very impressive photography collection over the years. The magazine specializes on photojournalism, pairing powerful images to written articles, and over time had left us with images that have been seen the world over; after all who hasn’t seen Steven [...]

Wednesday, September 9th, 2009

The Biblioteca Digital de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana (Digital Library of Traditional Mexican Medicine) is a project created by UNAM which gathers information on this practice.
Here you will find information on the plants used for healing, including scientific and popular names, illnesses it is associated with, and a brief bibliography for further information. There is [...]

Friday, September 4th, 2009

DASH (Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard) has just been released in Beta. The repository is the product of a university initiative to fully participate in the Open Access movement by making available faculty publications to the world.
This project establishes that publications by Harvard faculty from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, and the Law [...]

Look here. You will surely find what you are looking for.